If anyone cares, this is where I was at the weekend:

image

With Hubby and DSD:

image

It was the first time in about a year and was, in equal measure, frustrating and achy and painful and fun and shit.  My confidence is completely shot to ribbons.  I knew my physical ability would be far less than it was (lack of condition and being a good 20 pounds heavier than last time I went did *not* help), and adjusted my expectations accordingly.  Or so I thought.  I had forgotten, however, that climbing ability is not about strength to weight ratio alone. It was truly astonishing to realise just how much of it is related to the brain.  I mean, yes, I was aware before of things like the right mindset, positive attitude, etc.  But this weekend,  I was practically smacked in the back of the head by the sheer enormity of its importance. At one point, I was sobbing like a big baby at the fact tat the routes that o wanted to climb – that were interesting to me – were all graded 4+ and various gradations of 5, yet I could barely manage a 2! It was mildly traumatic.  However, having had a very bad-tempered and somewhat petulant argument with an overhang (really – don’t ask), something seemed to click into place.  I didn’t instantly start spidering up grade 6’s or anything, but a tiny bit of familiarity crept into the experience. My body started to gather wisps of muscle memory. My brain started to pull stuff out of long-term storage. 
I’m not nearly physically dedicated to it to ever be any good at it – I’m not into intense or intensive exercise (it’s boring) but I think it has the potential to be at least a pleasant and fun hobby.  I daresay
Hubby will be pleased about that..

